A Lesson On Pride

Standard

I’m not a very confident person. So when I hear about pride I think to myself that I don’t have to worry myself about that. Pride is a sin. Pride is first on the list of the seven deadly sins. Haughtiness, arrogance, conceit, high self-esteem, vanity……you see this every where you look!

To fear the LORD is to hate evil;
   I hate pride and arrogance,
   evil behavior and perverse speech.

Proverbs 8:13 NIV

I was reading an article in Above Rubies about a woman who never asked for help. I never ask for help. I never even thought that not asking for help was prideful. This quote from the article really struck me: “My need to feel capable and strong has unknowingly squashed another one’s need to feel helpful and needed!”

Gosh I never thought of it that way! I almost always turn down help from others! 

When pride comes, then comes dishonor, But with the humble is wisdom.

Proverbs 11:2 NAS

I will be more humble and accept help when offered and I will try to ask for help when I need it.

One response »

  1. So I may be monopolizing your comments. =) Sorry.

    I used to think the same way. Still do, as a matter of fact. I want to be able to do everything and not need help from anyone. I think maybe that’s what I was supposed to learn from having my water break so early followed by a lengthy NICU stay. I COULDN’T do it all. No matter how hard I tried. I did my absolute best to be the best wife I could to my husband and best mother I could to all of my kids but I couldn’t be with everyone every minute of the day. Not to mention trying to keep up with meals, bills, cleaning, etc… I cannot thank my Heavenly Father enough for blessing me with so many friends who stepped in and taught me what love and sacrifice are all about. Could never have made it through last year without any of them.

    I often like to put myself in the place of others. If I saw someone who looked like me, I think I would really want to help her. And I don’t think I’m so abnormal that that’s not exactly what a lot of people were thinking. And it’s so appreciated. Not to mention that being on the receiving end makes you want to be on the giving end all the more as well. I really feel like it’s made me less selfish in my giving. I truly want to help people because I know I can help ease their burden. Just an hour or two of babysitting here, a dinner there. But it’s also hard not to overdo and neglect my own family.

    Ah, life.

    Wow, sorry for the sermon! I think I’m just getting all my recent ponderences out on your blog! =)

Leave a Reply

