NICU – Day 1

Standard

(My blog name for the baby….he will be refered to as Gus.)

Gus is doing well. He received 2 x-rays so far. The last x-ray showed that he had a pneumothorax. This is basically a collapsed lung/a pocket of air outside the lung. The NICU doc said it’s not big and “may” reabsorb on its own. Otherwise he will need to have it removed via needle extraction or by putting in a chest tube. He is on CPAP (continuous positive airway pressure) which helps prevent the air sacs in his lungs from collapsing. He will most likely be on the CPAP for a few days. I cannot hold him right now. I started pumping right after he was born. (Right now I am producing colostrum.) He is on IV fluids. In a day or two they will start feeding him through a feeding tube.

Today’s weight: 5lbs. 0.7oz.

I was prepared for all of this. I can see my sweet baby beyond the tubes and wires. He looks a lot like JoJo & Ry-Guy as an infant. What I was not prepared for………when I first saw him he was awake and had his eyes open. He was grunting (which is normal) and his little eyes were fluttering open and closed. To me it looked as if he was searching for something to focus on. He seemed as if he was panicking. I’m sure this is quite normal…..but I was not prepared to see that.

One response »

Leave a Reply

