What Is In The Cabinet???

Standard

I was inspired by a post from Homesteader’s Heart about cleaning out her pantry. Although I did not find expired food like Kim did, I did find that I had multiples of items. Some of which I had no idea that I had!! I found 3 jars of peanut butter, 6 cans of pinto beans (why I have no idea as we do not eat beans!!) 10 bags of white rice and about 8 cans of tuna (just to name a few of the goodies I found)! After reading a great entry from The Happy House Wife I was inspired to see what meals I could come up with by using the ingredients I had on hand! So for dinner tonight we are having Hamburger Pie. I’ve made this many times but it has been out of rotation for a while. This easy one dish meal can be made with all the ingredients I already have on hand!

Here is the recipe:

1/2 Lb ground beef

3/4 cup cold water

1/4 cup butter (no substitutes!)

3/4 cup flour

3 eggs

1 cup white rice (cooked as instructed on package)

mozzarella cheese, spaghetti sauce & seasons to taste (I use garlic & onion powder)

Brown the ground beef. Drain & add seasons. Cook rice. In a medium sauce pan bring butter & water to a boil. Add flour all at once and stir until mix forms a ball. Remove from heat. Add eggs one at a time mixing well. Spread dough on bottom & sides of greased 10 ” round pan or deep dish pie plate. Fill with ground beef, sauce & rice. Spread mozz. cheese on top and bake 25 minutes or until browned @ 425 degrees.

Leave a Reply

