Wasted Time

Standard

Since I quit Facebook I have been on the computer less and less. There was a good 3 days when I didn’t even log on. When I do go on the computer it’s to do a quick check for e-mails (which I have almost never) read my favorite blogs and check my bank balance. I didn’t realize how much time I wasted on Facebook!! And for what? To see what my “friends” were doing? A friend as defined by Webster’s is “one attached to another by affection or esteem”. Hmm….makes me think. These “friends” I have (or should I say had) on Facebook…are they attached to me by affection? Well I cannot speak for them but I can say my inbox is empty, my phone is not ringing and my doorbell never rings. So what I was really doing was “spying” on my acquaintances. I was peeking into the life of a person I knew casually. I wasn’t sharing a friendship. It wasn’t real. Now I’m not saying that these on my friend list are people I don’t like. I would gladly say hi and have a quick conversation should we see each other. But that is as far as it goes. I don’t know maybe I’m overthinking the whole thing? But to me I felt like it was fake. I didn’t like how I felt after a quick (or not so quick) visit to Facebook. Now this could be a side affect from my depression? This may be why I am seperating myself from this? Who knows, I may even go back to Facebook someday? But right now this is my thoughts on the entire thing. God only knows what tomorrow will bring.

Leave a Reply

