My Neighbor, My Boat, My Helicopter

Standard

I heard this story a long time ago. I was again reminded of this story recently. 😉

There once was a man who was caught in a terrible storm. It had been raining and raining and the land around him was beginning to flood. People in the houses around him told him that he should leave like they were. He told them that he was a man of faith and that God was going to save him from the storm. They said their goodbyes and his neighbors left one by one until he was the only one left on the block. The waters kept rising – so much so that he had to climb up to his attic. As he sat there looking out this window and praying to God, a boat came by and offered him a ride. He said no, that he was a person of faith and God was going to save him. The waters kept rising and soon, he had to get on the roof of his house. A helicopter came by to rescue him and he refused saying that he was a man of faith and that God was going to save him. The waters kept rising and soon, the man died from drowning. When he reached heaven, he angrily approached God and said, “Lord, I prayed to you for days to save me from the storm and you left me there to drown. Why didn’t you come and save me?” God replied, “I sent your neighbors, a boat and a helicopter – but you sent them all away. I did my part, but you didn’t do yours! You ignored all the help that I sent to you.”

I know God was sending me my neighbors, a boat, and a helicopter!! PTL I “woke up” and caught the helicopter and went to church Wednesday night! My cup has been filled to overflowing!!

3He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

4Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

5Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

6Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

Psalm 23:3-6 KJV

Leave a Reply

