A Few Toughts on God & My Testimony

Standard

The issue of God has been coming up a lot for me lately. I figured I post my testimony and a few thoughts. Another person I know has been questioning a few things pertaining to God in their blog. I replied to it and I’ve taken some of my responses and pasted them here.

Faith – N. Strong belief; trust; confidence

OK I haven’t had coffee yet…..Nothing is perfect except God. All religion has man made rules. Not one is more right then the other as long as the word of God is taught. The world is falling apart and things are crazy. I can only worry about myself and my family. I can’t speak for other people. I can only say what I believe.

Here is my testimony:

As a young child I always knew there was a God. I wasn’t raised to say grace or pray. We almost never went to church. I did attend CCD classes but I never understood what was being “taught” in that 45 min. class one day a week. But I did understand that I never felt alone. God was there. My Grandma taught me that. And without being told I faithfully said my prayers. I felt better when I prayed. Now that was as far as it went for years. Until a friend invited me to church. There I “met” Jesus. My Catholic upbringing did not teach me about Jesus (other then the Christmas story) But my good friend told me about Him and introduced me to a church where people knew each other’s names. A church where children were part of the service. I found a place where I felt at home! Now if that isn’t God what is??? I grew in my faith. When I moved I found another AWESOME church with a contemporary worship service! Christian Rock in church! No boring service where an old man in robes talked and talked and talked…I was in a place that rejoiced in worship, clapping, dancing & raising hands. I feel at home! People know my name and know my kids’ names! My little ones LOVE going to church. They are always asking if today is a church day LOL!

Here’s a joke: A Christian man was getting his hair cut. The barber said “I don’t believe there is a God.” The man asked why? The barber said “If there was a God why are so many bad things happening in this word, why are people hurt & suffering?” The Christian man said “Well I don’t believe there are barbers” The babrber said “I’m right here, how can you say there are no barbers?” “Well” the Christian man replied “If there were barbers then people wouldn’t be walking around with long hair!”
God is there but not all choose to see Him.

Faith – Trust – Strong Belief

I believe there is a God. I have to because I “feel” it. I have prayed and God has answered my prayers. And when He did I knew it was Him!!

Funny thing..Christians seem to encounter a lot of people who don’t believe in God. And non-believers seem to encounter a lot of people who DO believe. Now I as a believer think that is no coincidence. (I had to look that spelling up LOL) But I’m not the type of Christian or person to push anything on anyone. Well that may not be entirely true. I may push some coffee your way when you walk through my door. But any way….. I don’t like to be pushy about my faith. I don’t want others to think I am flaunting it or think that I think I am better because I am a Christian.

I read my Bible when I can, I say my prayers every night. I KNOW Jesus is my Savior. He died on the cross for my sins. I can’t debate religion, God or the Bible. I don’t know it all. I’m still learning. I will close with a verse from the NIV Bible:

Hebrews 11:1,3

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

By faith we understand that the universe was formed at God’s command, so that what is seen was not made out of what was visible….

Leave a Reply

